A Busy Mamma

Mamma and Jared at the Beach

Mamma and Jared at the Beach

At the end of the day, when I’m so tired that I start falling asleep at 8pm, I have to stop and wonder what has kept me busy all day long.  I have to remind myself that I do have a lot on my plate and not to worry too much about not getting everything done.  So, I just thought I would share a little bit of my daily routine with all of you to show you why I haven’t had much time to do any blogging.

6am – Either I wake up or Jared wakes me up with his babbling or by calling out my name. I check on the boys and change their diapers, start warming Luke’s morning bottle, and get Jared’s bottle of formula mixed. 

6:30 am – Stephen usually takes over the feeding of Luke so that I can pump milk to store for him for later.  I usually end up trying to entertain Jared and Luke while I’m doing that. 

7am – If I’m done with pumping, I either start bathing the baby who needs a bath that day and get them dressed in their clothes.

7:30am – This is when I aim to jump on the treadmill and run for 30 minutes.  I either set Jared up with some books to look at or have him watch a Dora video on the computer.

8:00am – I’m cooling down from my run on the treadmill and getting showered up. Jared is usually still being entertained by books or his toys or a Dora video.

8:30 – I get dressed and start preparing Jared’s breakfast.  I aim to have him fed by nine am so that I can eat breakfast and feed Luke who is ready for his second breakfast by then.

9:00 -10:00 – I’m usually wrapping up breakfast and cleaning up the dishes in the kitchen. 

10:00 – Jared’s nanny arrives.  Sometimes she takes Jared out so that I can get a little bit of work done on the computer.  Other times, I take Jared with me to run errands, pay bills, etc.

10:00-12pm – These hours fly as I take care of errands or play with my babies or type on the computer. 

12pm – It’s time to feed Luke again, give Jared his lunch and put him down for an afternoon nap before I have to go to work. 

1pm – My afternoon classes begin.

3:30 – The school day ends and I check my school e-mail and wrap things up for the day.

4pm – I go home so the nanny can leave.  She’s already fed Luke a bottle, so I need to use the pump again and store more milk.

5pm – It’s time to make dinner.

6pm – We eat dinner together and I feed Luke at some point in time.

7pm – 8pm – Stephen helps me wash the dishes and I play with Jared and Luke. This is also the best time to make phone calls or Skype or family and friends.

8pm –  We start getting the boys ready for bed and diapers are changed.

8:30pm – Jared gets his teeth brushed.  I read him a bed time story and dad gives him a couple ounces of formula to help him go down for the night.  While Daddy is doing that final step, I’m nursing Luke one last time before putting him to bed. 

By this point, all I want to do is go to bed.  I’ve found that if I want to do blogging or catch up on e-mail or grade papers for school, I have to do so over the weekend when it works out.

Leave a Reply

