Jared Boy and Baby Luke

It is amazing to see how quickly my two little boys are growing.  Jared is becoming more and more articulate in his speech (both English and Spanish) and Luke is an independent walker.  It is very interesting to watch them interact and to see their similarities and differences.

Jared has always been my little shadow.  He does not like to be left alone for anything.  Therefore, using a “time out” as punishment usually works like a charm to get him to straighten out attitude…to the extent that two year old can accomplish this.  Or if I am about to go somewhere and I want him to follow me, I can just tell him, “O.K. Jared.  I’m leaving. Bye!”  That usually brings him running in my direction. He is also learning how to sing.  We have been listening to many children’s songs, and Jared has memorized some of the songs already. 

Here are some of his favorites:
“The Gospel Train”
“The Bear Went Over the Mountain”
“Skinny-Marinky-Dink”

Luke is a more independent boy.  He doesn’t care what everyone else is doing.  If he has him eyes focused on something, nothing will tear him away.  Going for a walk with Luke is a bit of a challenge, because he wants to go in his own direction and doesn’t follow Mommy at all.  I can tell him that I’m leaving him and he doesn’t even pay attention.  He is just so excited to be able to walk on his own that he wants to use his new found freedom as much as possible. 

He has also mixed a lot more Spanish into his first words that Jared has.  He’ll say “Chao” when he says “Good-bye” to people.  I’ve heard him say the word for cookie in Spanish as well.  There are a lot of other things that Luke says now, but I simply haven’t figured out his language yet.  Sometimes I think he’s mixing both languages together into his own unique language. 

Jared always tries to be the “big brother.” Sometimes, he’s a little too bossy and rough with his little brother.  Luke isn’t quite old enough to retaliate.  It will be interesting to see what happens when Luke starts fighting back.  For now, he just starts crying and then Mommy comes running into the scene to rescue Luke from Jared. 

There are other times that Jared and Luke are sweet and kind to each other.  Sometimes, I’ll find them both in a fierce embrace as they roll around on the floor together. 

Jared and Luke play in the the grass.

2 thoughts on “Jared Boy and Baby Luke

  1. Misty, CT

    You probably already know this all to well, but it is very common when children are learning two languages to mix them up. They ususally sort them out around ages 3 – 5, having sort of a light bulb moment where they realize oh wait, these are two separate languages, I get it!

    Reply
    1. mkmeierfamily Post author

      Yes, I know that. I’m sorry if I sounded like I was perplexed by the situation. I was just sharing my experiences with my friends and family who read my blog so that they too can share a brief glimse of our lives. But thanks for trying to offer some advice.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

