From Marina Hernandez to Jenny Pilataxi

Marina accepts a good-bye present on her last day at work.

At the end of March, our little family went through a painful change.  The lady who we had hired to help me take care of the boys, Marina Hernandez, discovered that she had two completely blocked arteries in her heart.  Her doctor told her that she needed to stop working and get more rest in order to prevent a heart attack.  He told her that is she kept working, she most likely would suffer a heart attack soon. He felt it was time for her to retire since she is almost 60 years old.

The news hit me hard, because I realized how much my boys had gotten attached to their “nana” (the name they had given Marina).  I also was sad at the thought of not seeing Marina again.

That meant I had to look for someone new to help me with my boys and with the house work.  Within a week, God made it possible for the maid of another missionary family to start working for us.  Jenny Pilataxi has three children.  Two are fully grown, but her youngest is only nine years old.  She has also worked for missionary families her entire career as a nanny.

Although it has been an adjustment to have someone new working for us, we are excited about having her help.  She is actively trying to help me teach my boys more Spanish words and she said that she will help me potty train Jared when he shows us that he is ready for it. (He hasn’t quite gotten there yet.)

We are excited to have a Christian working for us who is both trustworthy and full of energy and excitement about caring for my children.

3 thoughts on “From Marina Hernandez to Jenny Pilataxi

  1. Misty, CT

    Sorry, I am behind on reading your blogs. I hope you and your family are doing well. Isn’t there anyway to get Marina the surgery she needs? It is things like this that break my heart the most. The mortality rate in Ecuador has dropped 5% in the past decade; whereas, in the US, it dropped 1/10 or .01% in the past decade. http://apps.who.int/whosis/database/mort/table4.cfm

    Reply
    1. mkmeierfamily Post author

      With Marina the risks also factor in with the financial difficulties. She has really high blood pressure and does not handle anesthesia well. So, there is a greater percentage that she wouldn’t make it through the surgery even if given to her. Her daughter is a doctor and she’s doesn’t want to risk losing her mom in the process of getting heart surgery. So, I think they’re working on improving her diet and giving her medication to help get her blood pressure down.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

