The Nanny with the Chicken Pox

October was already half way over and I was starting to count down the days to our first long vacation at the beginning of November.  I simply had to make in through two more full weeks of classes.  At the end of the day on Monday, October 18, my nanny came up to me a few minutes before she left and said, “I’m not sure how to tell you this….”

At first, I braced myself for something horrific, such as quitting the job.  However, she began by telling me that she had been running a fever all day long.  She said she had been going back and forth between having the chills and feeling overheated.

“My daughter, Evelyn, came down with the chicken pox last week.  So, I’m wondering whether or not, I might have it, too,” she said. “However, I don’t have any pox break out on my skin yet.”

She began to cry saying that she didn’t want to stay away from work and was afraid that I was going to cut her pay or fire her. 

After I assured her that neither one of those things would happen, I suggested she stay home for a day to see if she really had the chicken pox and to go see a doctor.  The following day was a rush in trying to get someone from the school to help watch the boys and Isabella Greer (who also is cared for by my nanny during school hours).  It was also the day I had scheduled for my nanny to make Luke’s home-made soup which would last him for two weeks.  So, I had to make his soup and clean the house and make sure that the baby sitters knew what to do for the kid’s normal routine.

At the end of the day, my nanny called to tell me she had started breaking out into spots in the night prior and she most definitely had the chicken pox.  I told her to rest and not worry too much about us.  Then I tried to grapple with the fact that I would be without a nanny for the following eight days.  After a second day of searching for someone to babysit the kids for the next week, I finally found someone who was willing to help me out from 9:30 to 3:30pm for the rest of the time that my nanny would be out. 

During this whole process, I was so grateful that I was exposed to chicken pox as a pre-schooler and already had immunity to it.  My boys had been received the chicken pox vaccination at part of their 12 month shots.  I was told that this vaccine is good between four to five years.  So, I didn’t have to worry about having to deal with chicken pox in my home. 

The busy days continued as I had to continue taking care of the household task and making all the food for my boys.  There was no point training a babysitter for these tasks if she was only going to be caring for them for five days.   Stephen helped me with mopping the floors on occasion. 

It was with great joy that we received Sonia back in our home last Thursday.  As usual, God had provided for our needs in a time of crisis.  We were also able to pay our temporary babysitter for a week of work without having to pull it out of the pay check of our nanny.

Leave a Reply

