Cristina’s Pregnancy Update

Just as I was entering my final ten weeks of pregnancy, the Lord blessed me with a lighter teaching load for the second semester of the school year.  My English Department Head Teacher told me that he had decided to cancel my English class for second semester, which was supposed to be a small group of students taking Speech and Debate.  He figured that it would be easier to put all the students into other established classes for second semester than try to supervise and train a substitute teacher to take over the final half of the semester when I would go on maternity leave.

So, my rushed exit from my home, to arrive at a 9:30am English class each day, was suddenly out of the picture.  A couple weeks after he told me of this development, the registrar’s office informed me that there were no high school students who needed to take the sixth period keyboarding class that I had been teaching directly after lunch.  Therefore, my teaching load went down from four classes to two.  Since then, I met with the director to talk about some projects I can work on to keep me on the same funding as before and he gave me a video project to work on that I hope to finish before I go on maternity leave.

I have felt significantly less stress this past month as I have been teaching only my two middle school Computer 8 classes for four days out of the week.  This is a good thing as my body seems to be slowing down a little more with each passing week and as my belly continues to inflate. 

By tomorrow, I will be officially 34 weeks pregnant.  I am excited that God did provide the money for my mom to come and stay with me for three weeks in April.  She is set to arrive on April 4…just four days before my due date and will stay until the end of April. 

I also had my third trimester and final sonogram today, February 24, and the doctor was able to confirm that the baby still looks like a girl.  He scared me for a while saying he wasn’t sure, but would check again before he finished the sonogram.

From this point on, I begin weekly visits to the doctor.  He is predicting that I will make it full term, but start thinking in terms of giving birth sometime between the last two weeks of March or the first week of April.

I am looking forward to taking my final blood tests this weekend.  Also, some of the ladies at the school are planning a baby shower for me to take place next Thursday, March 3.

So far, everything is progressing as normal.  The only concern my doctor had with me is that my thyroid is still working too hard and he has told me to take a higher dose of the thyroid medication that was prescribed for me. 

I am planning on teaching until my due date on April 8 or until Grace Erin is born…whichever comes first!

Cristina can still pick up both her boys at 33 weeks of pregnancy...as long as they don't get in the way of her belly.

2 thoughts on “Cristina’s Pregnancy Update

  1. Brenda

    Adorable picture. I am soo excited for you guys. God keeps blessing you through some what could be stressful times. He definately proves to be an on time God. You all are in my prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

