My 25 Hour Day

Daylight Savings time is going to end tomorrow.  This yearly event has not affected me very much in the past three years.  I had been living in Ecuador where the time never changed. The only difference it made was when I needed to call family and friends living in the U.S.  I had to remind myself that their time had changed.  For half the year, I was on Eastern Time and the other half I was on Central Time.

Central Daylight Saving Time is what we moved into living in Lake Jackson, Texas. Tomorrow, we will move into Central Standard Time.  Although I’ve always had a hard time adjusting to the change in hour, I’ve appreciated the falling back one hour.  It felt like I had an extra hour added to my day.  With all the things I’ve been doing lately, I’ve been to ponder my 25 hour day and ask myself, “What will I do with my extra hour on Sunday, November 6?”

Perhaps I’ll use that hour for my morning preparations.  I could wake up an hour earlier than normal.  That’s when I pull out my breast pump and start doing my devotions while pumping out enough milk for Grace’s morning bottle, four extra ounces to mix with her cereals and some left over for storage, if possible. Jared and Luke are usually awake by the time I’m finished.  So, I get them dressed, make their beds and give them their 8 oz of milk in a sippy cup.  While they drink, I start preparing the hot water to warm up Grace’s morning bottle.  Most of the time, Stephen helps me feed Grace.  Then I can make our bed and straighted up the rooms a little before getting started with the boys’ breakfast. When I finish making breakfast for Jared, Luke and Grace, I let Stephen feed Grace and supervise the boys, while I get myself dressed. Then we switch off and I put Grace down for her morning nap, eat breakfast and get the boys’ teeth brushed and shoes on while Stephen gets himself ready. This would, perhaps, give us enough time to get to church on time instead of a few minutes late.

Jared and Luke get goofy at lunch time.

Or maybe, I should save my extra hour for lunchtime. We usually feed the boys as soon as we get home from church.  When they are done eating, they get to play a little while before they are sent back to the room area to use the bathroom and prepare for their afternoon nap.  Stephen puts the boys in bed while I feed Grace her noon time meal of “Mamma’s milk.” She usually goes right to sleep when she’s finished. That gives us anywhere between 1 and 1/2 hours to 3 hours of peace while all three children are sleeping.  Stephen usually takes the opportunity to take a nap.  I, on the other hand, uses this time for household chores or unfinished projects, such as writing in this blog. Maybe my extra hour would be most useful here.

Grace plays on her mat.

However, I could use the extra hour later on in the afternoon.  Once the boys wake up from their nap, they ask for a snack and either spend time playing or watching a little television. They always wake up before Grace does.  When she wakes up, she’s ready for more milk and then enjoys spending time in her walker so that she can play with her toys, but can also observe what her brothers are doing.  By 5pm, I’m getting dinner ready for the family, Stephen is helping me wash the laundry and we sit down to eat at about 6pm. As the boys start eating, I go to my room to feed Grace and then bring her back to the table to eat her solids.

Cristina with Jared, Luke and Grace.

Actually, I think I might just save my extra hour for the later evening hours.  After dinner, the boys play with their toys or watch a little more television while the dinner dishes get cleaned and the laundry continues to be washed.  Around 8pm, we start getting everyone ready for bed. Jared and Luke brush their teeth, get their pajamas on and then pull out some books to read.  I used to be the story reader of the family.  However, Grace’s final feeding for the evening has come to conflict with the boys’ story time.  Therefore, Stephen is the one who most often reads to them while I start feeding Grace before putting her to bed. However, I do get to see the boys before they go to bed.  After their stories have been read, they insist that I pray with them and give them a hug and kiss good-night.  So, they run over to my room so that I can pray with them while I’m still feeding Grace.  After hugs and kisses, they run back to their room where Daddy puts them in bed, prays with them again and turns on their music so that they can fall asleep.

By the time Grace is asleep, I begin to wonder where all the hours have gone in my day.  Maybe my extra hour should be used at this point, so I can get a few more things done on my to-do list. Or maybe I’ll just use the extra hour to go to bed early and feel somewhat rested for the next day.

Leave a Reply

