Cristina Gets Stuck on Methodology

August  2012 – For those of you who have been aware that I have been working on the dissertation of my Ph.D. for the past couple years, you might also have wondered if I ever finished it this past school year (2011-2012) as I had originally planned when we moved to Lake Jackson.

The answer is a profoundly disappointed “no.” I was staying on track for the first few months without too many setbacks.  However, I really pushed myself to finish my second chapter.  I stayed up ALL night one night to get it finished and then I got completely exhausted.  The next thing I knew, I was getting myself wrapped up in the holiday season and suddenly it was January and then February and I had accomplished very little for the third and last chapter of my dissertation proposal.  So, the school year finished off with me feeling guilty about not completing the first draft of my third chapter. This is a bit of a tedious chapter because it focuses on the methodology of my study, which is basically explaining to my audience the exact details for how I will conduct the study.

I was hoping to get some work done over the summer, but I was physically unable to do much because of all the bed rest that was required of me.  So, here I am once again starting another school year and hoping that I will be graduating in the spring of 2013.  If I do, it will be a special experience, because I will be graduating at the same time as the students that I sponsored for two years at the Alliance Academy International.  It’s hard for me to believe that those cute little eighth graders that I was teaching in a Computer 8 class in the 2008-2009 school year are now big seniors at the school.

So, I would also like to be in the graduating class of 2013.  I’ve talked to my professor.  He wants me to send him a second draft of my first two chapters before I try to send him the rough draft of my third chapter.  In that way, I can hopefully get back on track and nail down a schedule for defending my proposal, conducting my study and actually finish writing my entire dissertation to be defended later on this year.

That is my current plan.  I am hoping that the motivation I feel in updating our family blog will continue in my academic writing endeavors.  Please keep me in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

